What Is Your Field?

Standard

 

On Saturday, a good friend of mine will be leaving for South Africa on a mission trip. (To follow along on her journey, click here to go to her blog.) I can’t wait to hear the many stories she will share when she returns to the States in July.

But this got me thinking…you don’t have to go a million miles away to be on a mission trip. We have a mission field that starts at our back door. (Please don’t misunderstand what I’m saying…I think overseas and out of country mission trips are awesome.)

I think we can get too caught up in doing GREAT and BIG things away from home. What we don’t realize is that there might be people even in our own home who are hurting that we need to love on. Our tunnel vision prevents us from seeing them. The routines of our daily life keep us from noticing when our spouse or child or friend or family member has a difficult day.

I know it can be hard to share how you feel…I’m no good with verbal communication, but give me a pencil and paper and you’ll get more than you wanted to know! But, it’s important to reach out and accept the love that our close relationships want to give us.

So, how do we do GOOD and BIG things on the home front?

  • Ask questions and listen to the answers.
  • Free Hugs! (No, I’m not talking about finding those creepy guys at concerts and ballgames who wear those shirts…weird.)
  • Smile 🙂
  • Laugh…even if that joke they just told wasn’t too funny (I know this could never be said about my jokes, but I hear this is a real issue for some people)
  • Just be there…offer silence, sometimes that’s all they need

Your turn: what’s another tip for living a missional life at home?

 

 

Leave a Reply

