The Birthday Presence

Standard

I had a revelation this weekend. It’s on your 24th birthday when the thrill of the birthday starts to disappear. Gone are the fun times of having a character-themed party…gone are the milestones that you reach and feel good about. I actually had a moment yesterday when I groaned at the realization that next year will bring with it the tag of being a quarter of a century.

But I have also come to realize that presents are not important. Do I appreciate them? Absolutely. Do I have to have them in order to celebrate? Nope. There’s one thing, though, that I’ve found matters more to me now than presents.

Presence. The presence of people around me. My family. My friends. If I get to be around the people that I love, then that is enough for me to have a great birthday. It took me long enough to figure it out, but I think I’ve finally got the hang of what it’s important and what’s not.

Leave a Reply

