The Odds Are In Their Favor (A “Hunger Games” Movie Review)

Standard

This is the shirt that my sister and I wore to the movie! We made them ourselves!

It goes without saying that any book turned movie is better as a book. I don’t know anyone who would disagree with this statement. Even as pumped up as I was to see The Hunger Games, I found that once again the book proved to be the more worthy contender.

Don’t get me wrong…there are so many positives to this movie that if you haven’t read the books you could overlook. One of the main differences between the book and the movie was the supporting characters had less of a supporting role. Effie Trinket, Haymitch, Cinna, and the design team all have several dialogues with Katniss and Peeta throughout the book. I really thought Haymitch could have been more loud and boisterous.

Jennifer Lawrence was spot on as Katniss, my favorite character. Her raw emotion was believable both when she left for the Games and when a fellow tribute dies in her arms. I can’t criticize a single thing about the way she chose to portray Katniss. Job well done Ms. Lawrence!

I felt the filmmakers focused just a shade more on Peeta and Katniss than the original story line in the book, but I can live with that. The movie was well done in the realm of casting, scenery, and costume design.

Overall Grade: A-

What was your favorite part about the movie?

Leave a Reply

