Communication Breakdown

Standard

Here’s a funny story for your Tuesday: last night, I was yelling at my husband. Not because I was angry, but because we have this crazy loud AC unit. I was at one end of the room, and he was at the other. I was trying to tell him something, and he couldn’t hear me. So, I said the same thing a little louder. Then, he asked me a question, but I thought he still couldn’t hear me. So, I yelled the same thing even louder. He yelled back that he had heard me the first time and he was really wanting to know something else.

D’oh!

It’s really quite humorous now that I think about it…wasn’t so much last night. It really made me think about how I communicate. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no eloquent speaker. Now, if you need me to write a note, I’m all over that. I just can’t communicate very well verbally.

One way I try to overcome this fault is by writing things down that I want to say. I do this even if I have an important phone call to make. I don’t want to be caught off guard and fumble through my words.

When thinking about communication, it’s also important to realize that it’s not a one-way street. There are at least two people, maybe more, that are involved. And if one person hears something different (case in point illustrated above), then it throws the whole process off. It’s important to be clear with our words when communicating.

What’s your favorite way to communicate: with written words or with spoken words?

 

Leave a Reply

