Re-Post: Interview with Author Melanie Dickerson

Standard

This is a repost from an interview that I did with local author Melanie Dickerson. Enjoy!

I am so excited to share this with you guys today! Today, we have an interview with local Christian fiction writer Melanie Dickerson. She has authored two books, The Healer’s Apprentice and The Merchant’s Daughter. These books look really intriguing to me, and I hope learning about Melanie will prompt you to pick up one of her books. Click here to read more about Melanie. Enjoy the interview!

Image

Image

1. How did you come up with the ideas for your books?

Hi, Tessa! Thanks for having me on your blog!

I came up with the idea for my first published book, The Healer’s Apprentice, when I was watching Sleeping Beauty with my daughters. It hit me, after seeing the movie for the umpteenth time, that the hero’s actions really weren’t very plausible, so I started to think, What would the story be like if it actually happened? How would the prince react to this situation? And the story took off from there. And I enjoyed taking the Sleeping Beauty story and retelling it so much that I decided to do the same thing with other fairy tales. The Merchant’s Daughter was my second one, and is based on Beauty and the Beast.

2. What do you hope your readers take away from your books?

I hope they will take away a sense of God’s love for them and the sense that God has a good plan for their lives, and an appreciation for God’s plan for romance. God created romance, and romance God’s way is a very good thing. Romance is also a picture of God’s love for us.

3. What advice would you give to someone who wants to be an author?

Well, I could probably write a book to answer that question, Tessa! But thankfully, someone else has beat me to it—several someones, actually. I would recommend reading one of them, like Self-Editing for Fiction Writers by Browne & King, The First Five Pages by Noah Lukeman, and Writing the Breakout Novel by Donald Maass. I’m sure there are many other great books on writing, but that’s off the top of my head. I also recommend writing as much as you can, making writing a priority and committing to working at it. Sometimes this takes sacrificing things like TV watching and volunteering. And the thing I always say is most important if you want to be a writer is Perseverance. It often takes many years to break into the business and get a book published, but it will never happen if you quit.

4. What are some of your favorite books as an adult? What were some of your favorites as a child?

A great adult novel that I have admired is Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. That is a very powerful book and also a romance. Yes, romance can be powerful! And my favorite books as a teen were all of Jane Austen’s novels, especially Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott, and The Sea Hawk, by Rafael Sabatini. I love romance and adventure! And as a kid I loved Nancy Drew and Old Yeller and lots of other books too numerous to name and too lost in my memory!
Thank you, Tessa! It was fun talking to you!

I am grateful to Melanie for taking the time out of her busy schedule to answer some questions for us. Her books are available for Nook and Kindle as well. To purchase through Amazon, click here. To purchase through Barnes & Noble, click here.

Leave a Reply

