A New Adventure

Standard

“Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.” -Benjamin Franklin

What a perfect way to describe my thoughts for the day. I came across this inspiring quote on a fellow blogger’s website.

Today, I’m going to share my new adventure with you guys. As I prepare to type the words that will follow this sentence, I am shaking in my boots. Like a mouse walking into a cat’s house party.

I’m kinda, sorta writing a book.

This idea has been bouncing around in my head for some time. In fact, I actually tried to write one in November during National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), but I got really busy with subbing and life. At that point in time, I was not fully committed to the idea. But, I am now.

I had fantasized about adding this to the top of my New Year’s resolutions, but I still fought the urge to actually write it down. Because when I write it down, it becomes real. It is something that I have to do.

In addition to this news, most of my upcoming blog posts will focus on writing and what I discover while writing. The plan is to focus my blog down to a more narrow topic, which I hope will make it more appealing to my readers.

What is one thing that you want to do but are too scared to write it down?

4 responses »

  1. Awesome! You should. You really, really should go ahead a write that book. I did Nano for the first time this year and let me tell you I felt really accomplished after I made it. Once you write it, there’s something awesome about looking at it and going “I did that. I DID that. I can do it.Wow.” And it’ll improve you in other areas too. I’m writing a story with three friends. My posts, when it was my turn, used to be about 800ish words long. Now an easy post is 1,200 and I churned out a 2,500 one last night like it was nothing.

    Now that you’re committed, you can do this! I can’t wait to see how it comes along! ^_^

  2. Pingback: Goals for February « The Recreational Word Slinger

Leave a Reply

