Faith, Family, & Focus Series (Part 3)

Standard

This is Part 3 in a three part series, titled “Faith, Family, & Focus.” Visit here for Part 1 and here for Part 2.

As I sit down to write this post on focus, my mind is running in three different directions. I claim to be a multitasking expert, but I always seem to be going through the house like a chicken with its head cut off. I can’t remember anything! I’m just lucky that I’m a list person because I would be so lost otherwise. As a matter of fact, I just got up and did something else right before I wrote this sentence. (No, it wasn’t to go to the bathroom…I was playing laser tag with my cats!)

I’m terrible at focus.

I want to fix that.

So, next week (Jan 30-Feb 3), I am going to work on improving my focus. I want you to join me.

I will try to focus my posts on…focus. But because I don’t want you to feel like you got jipped out of Part 3 of the series, I will offer some points here about focus:

  • We focus on what matters to us. Ouch…this one hurts. If we focus on Twitter and Facebook, then that’s what matters to us. If we focus on TV, then that matters. If we focus on food, then that matters.
  • We are jerks. When we ignore what is important, then we automatically become jerks. Don’t let those materialistic things distract you or disrupt your focus.

Simply put, we need to daily remind ourselves to focus on what is important: faith, family. Not how many people we have lunch with this week.

How do you focus on what matters most?

Leave a Reply

