How Not to Meet Your New Year’s Resolution

Standard

I was totally jazzed about losing weight this week. It’s my top resolution, and I plan to stick to it. I want to get it down by 20 pounds. I bought a ton of fruit at the grocery store…and ate it all. I didn’t have dessert as often this week (more on this later)…not a single bit of hubby’s birthday cake! This was soooooo hard!

So after all this, I thought I was golden for losing my one pound per week goal that I’ve set. The scale had different plans. I weighed myself yesterday (one week in) and WEIGH THE SAME! Now, you might be thinking that you do not care about my weight and are about to click off the page, STOP. DON’T DO THAT. I’ve got something insightful planned here:

I know now how to not meet your resolutions. That’s right…big revelation.

  1. If you don’t want to meet your resolution, then don’t get active. For me, this is in the form of exercise. I only ran one day this week. That’s not going to cut it for my goals. So, if you don’t want to accomplish anything, stay on the couch.
  2. If you don’t want to meet your resolution, then keep indulging in your favorite treat. Peanut butter M&Ms are the devil. They kept popping into my mouth repeatedly last week. This is why I said that earlier that I didn’t dessert as much…true, I didn’t have cookies or cake after every meal like usual, but I did compensate this difference with those addictive little gems. Don’t want to get anything done…keep watching TV, keep ignoring your spouse, keep browsing the Internet.
  3. If you don’t want to meet your resolution, then convince yourself that you are doing fine. After reading what I did last week, it’s really no surprise that I didn’t lose any weight. I barely changed anything! So you want to stay average in your marriage, in your bodyweight, in your intelligence…tell yourself average means good. When in reality, average=average.
2 responses »

  1. I came here from a comment you left on Money Saving Mom. I loved the title of your blog and had to check it out. All I can say is ditto to this post and yes peanut butter m&m’s are the devil. Time to get them out of my house and myself off the internet. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

