Some Thoughts on 2012

Standard

I have chosen one word as my personal motto for 2012: hope. Sure, I have my various resolutions related to losing weight and other items. But, as 2011 was ending, I had to really wrestle with hope. It felt lost to me. I had forgotten something very, very important.

Hope is never lost.

Do you know the story of Pandora? In Greek mythology, she was given this box that held all the evil of the world, but it also contained hope. Pandora couldn’t resist the temptation to look in the box. Of course, the evil escaped. Guess what didn’t? Hope. She held on to hope because it is never lost.

I read these encouraging words in a Rick Warren devotional today:

“You have a choice – You can either worry or worship. You can either pray or panic.
The more you pray, the less you’ll panic. Relax, because God will take care of you!”

As you begin your journey into 2012, may you always remember that hope is never lost…no matter how dim or dark your situation may be.

Leave a Reply

