An Open Christmas Letter

Standard

Image

I don’t mail out the typical Christmas letter that lots of people do. So, to make up for it, I’ve decided to write one and put it up here. Go easy on me…it’s my first one:

 

We have reached the final days of 2011. It is going to be hard to recount the many adventures and memories that occurred this year, but I will do my best.

 

I completed my student teaching from January to April. I had a wonderful experience in the Kindergarten and 5th grade classrooms that I taught. I continue to substitute teach there whenever I am needed! This was the pinnacle of my undergraduate career at UAH. I technically graduated in May of this year, but due to the tornado outbreak in April (and the resulting power outage) the ceremony was postponed until August.

 

In May, Caleb and I made it out of town for a few days. We went to our favorite place…Orange Beach! After getting married there in 2009, it’s kinda meaningful to us. 😉 Then in June, Caleb’s whole family went on an adventure to Chattanooga to celebrate his grandparents’ 50th anniversary. It was a great trip…except for the Incline Railway, but that’s a different story entirely. In July, I had the awesome opportunity to travel to Cape Canaveral to witness the launch of the final space shuttle mission. What a trip! I got to mark something off my bucket list that trip, and I could not be happier!

Image

 

Caleb continues to do amazing things at his workplace. He is such a hard worker, and they place more responsibility on him every day as a reward. He has also started his own company on the side with his dad, Trinity Farm Supply. Check them out on Facebook! (shameless plug)

 

I’ve been substitute teaching this semester because I’ve been unable to get plugged into a teaching position. I had a difficult time with this fact, but it’s not my fault because I have been trying hard to find one. I am still holding out hope that one will open up at the beginning of January, but I really don’t know what 2012 will hold for me.

 

Speaking of 2012, we have some things already planned that will challenge us and help us grow, and we still continue to dream and plan. We hope that your family will have an outstanding 2012!

 

Merry Christmas!

3 responses »

  1. Tessa, you make me curious to know your Incline Railway story!!! I’ve ridden it a couple of times, but the last time I promised myself it would be the last time!!! LOL
    So nice to see you picture on here! Hope you have a wonderful 2012 and get a great job that you love!

      • The first time I rode it was probably almost 20 years ago, and I thought it was pretty fun. Then when I went with my husband and kids a couple of years ago, I rode it with them because they wanted me to, but I was scared to death! Then someone started saying, “I smell gas.” There was a small gas heater near the “driver” and it was very cold that day, and the smell of gas was VERY strong, and I started having visions of the thing exploding and us all being trapped on the side of Lookout Mountain in a little railway car! Sometimes it’s bad to have a good imagination! LOL!

Leave a Reply

