Summer of George

Standard

There’s an episode of “Seinfeld” that I have always enjoyed. Granted, it’s still behind the Festivus and Soup Nazi episodes, but still…it’s a good one. Image

Source

George Costanza is either fired from his job or quits his job (that guy has such a bad history with jobs…he needs to read Quitter). He decides that he is going to take the whole summer “off” and not look for a job until the fall. He calls it…in case you didn’t guess from the title of this post…”the Summer of George.” He plans on doing anything and everything he could possibly want to do. Sounds great, right? Wrong.

The first day George gets up. He stays on the couch all day. The next day George gets up. He stays on the couch all day. Do you see where I’m going with this?

The scariest thing is…I’ve had several days where I do the same thing as George. (And I wonder why I’ve gained weight?!) Back to my original intent…

How do you get rid of the Summer of George curse? You get up off your butt and get to work.

I don’t care if you’ve sent your resume’ 3,000 times to someone, send it again.
I don’t care if you’ve tried 2,345 days to begin your weight loss journey, start it again.
I don’t care if you’re doctor told you that it’s impossible to survive this disease, TRY ANYWAY.

And finish. (For more on finishing, read yesterday’s post about Finish Year and Jon Acuff’s idea. Wow, that’s the second time I’ve mentioned him in this blog…that could be considered kinda creepy. Nahhh, I’m just a huge fan, that’s all.)

Leave a Reply

