The Prodigal Son

Standard

There is a soft spot in my heart for the prodigal son story. Located next to this spot is the area that loves romcoms, but that’s a different story. I decided to reread it yesterday morning because my life has kinda resembled the storyline lately. There are three parallels that I found:

Much like the prodigal son, I lost my way. During September and October, I was a little lost because I didn’t have much work. I felt a little useless and slipped away from God, which was dumb. But it was like I had no purpose. It was awful.

Also like the prodigal son, I found the way back home. After some work gigs and just some time to get a grip on myself, I like to think I came full circle. I was myself again, if you will. I woke up from the funk I was in. And what better time to wake up than before Christmas?!!

Finally, I feel redeemed. My absolute favorite part of this story is the fact that when the son is “still a far way off” the dad starts running towards him. Holy moley. Talk about pulling at the heartstrings. That’s how it is every time we get away from God for awhile. When we make the journey back to him, He comes running to us.

Leave a Reply

