An Unexpected Ending

Standard

Sometimes I wonder if I should change professions. I mean, I haven’t been able to even break into it yet. I get frustrated, irritated, confused, and exhausted when I think about my current state of employment. I start to wonder: why teach?

And then something happens that wipes away any doubt.

I get a hug.

I experienced this earlier today. I subbed three straight Mondays for this one 7th grade class, and I developed a fondness for those kids. When my afternoon class was leaving, one girl held back just a second and gave me a quick side hug. I was floored. I was so moved that I couldn’t speak.

So the next time you wonder if you are making difference…know this, you probably are.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

