Adventures in an 8th Grade Classroom

Standard

I can’t believe it’s the last month of the year. Hard to imagine 2011 is almost gone. I don’t even want to think about how long it’s going to take me to start saying “2012.”

I had an exhausting day. I was supposed to show the 2 classes that I had today (morning and afternoon) a movie. It worked fine for the first group, but it would not play for some reason in the afternoon. I tried a gazillion times, but it would not work. I had this sinking feeling that it was going to be a very long afternoon. I told the kids to work on their homework, but nobody did because they didn’t have any. After about an hour, I had an epiphany. I remembered an activity that I had done in one of my classes. I decided to try it out, and the kids enjoyed it. It kept them entertained for the remaining hour and a half. Which was awesome.

I’m sure you are wondering why this would be so exhausting…well my friends, let me allow you to enter into my little brain for a few seconds (don’t worry I’ll let you out). You see, as soon as I realized that the DVD was not going to play; I went into survivor mode. I was afraid those kids were going to eat me alive…ok, maybe not so drastic, but my brain was going a million miles an hour. It’s crazy that I was so freaked out because there were only 10 kids, but I’m not used to 8th graders and I was scurred. Like whoa. So my little brain was having to work about four times faster than normal trying to think of anything that could keep them engaged. And then I heard it…that little voice in the back of my head…Dr. O’Brien…it was scary hearing him like that.

I was able to calm down a little bit once I realized that *gasp* they actually were enjoying writing. Time passed quickly after that. Their stories were strange and intriguing, filled with 8th grade vernacular that no one can understand unless you spend at least an hour with them.

P.S. In case you need to know, “like a boss” is a popular catchphrase nowdays. FYI.

Leave a Reply

